Chocolate Chip Cookies: The Ooey Gooey Goodness

I am in love.


…with this recipe for what I personally believe are the best chocolate chip cookies. I don’t like saying things are the best unless I really, really love the results. I’ve baked cookies before (from scratch, using frozen pre-made dough, pouch mixes, etc.) but they were never the best. They were either bland, the texture was off, not soft enough, and were definitely lacking in the ooey gooey department. No bueno. 

But, this recipe is the one. I’ve made these cookies three times now and each and every time they were incredibly delicious and met with many compliments from my usually very harsh critics (i.e. my siblings), so I know that this recipe isn’t the best by chance!

I myself like big, soft, slightly chewy, and very gooey cookies. My sister prefers crisper cookies, so if you’re like her then maybe this recipe won’t be the best for you, but give it a go! These just might convert you to the softer side! 😉
 

Let’s walk through this together, shall we?

First gather your ingredients.

Hopefully, you had the foresight to let your butter sit out for a while to soften at room temperature. I had not. Cold butter is not fun to mess with.

 

So here’s a trick I learned: slice your butter to make it soften faster. It’s not magic but it does help speed up the process a little. (I would not recommend melting the butter for this particular recipe.)
Now dump your softened (not melted dammit!) butter together with your sugar and brown sugar.
And now mix it together for a good 5 minutes to make it light and fluffy.
Look at it go!
See how it kind of looks like bland oatmeal? That’s good.
Now add in your egg and vanilla.

 

And stir again until it’s combined.
Meanwhile in a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, cornstarch, baking soda, and salt.
I’m still an amateur baker, but I feel like I’m at that point in life where I’ve baked enough things to be able to deal with flour without it landing everywhere and all over me. But alas, that is not the case. Sigh.
What a boring picture.

 

Carefully add the dry ingredients to your wet ingredients in 3 intervals, mixing after each addition until just combined. Don’t over mix!
Now comes my favorite part.

 

Add the chocolate chips!

 

Stir them by hand until evenly dispersed throughout the cookie dough.
(At this point it will be very tempting to consume this, but resist that temptation. And join Cookie Dough Anonymous. It helps.)
Now is the most crucial and (perhaps most agonizing) step. We must freeze the cookie dough for AT LEAST an hour. This is necessary for the soft, chewy texture…!! Good things come to those who are patient…
Store your cookie dough in a large plastic container OR if you want to expedite the process you can form the cookie dough into balls and cover them with plastic wrap and then freeze.
After the waiting game is done, take them out of the freezer and let them thaw for about 5-10 minutes, depending on how long they’ve been in the freezer. Then preheat your oven and you’re ready to bake!
The magic machine will turn your cookie dough into something like this…
Soft? Check. Chewy? Check. Ooey Gooey? Aw, yeah.
Mission accomplished!

Classic Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe (adapted from Averie Cooks & The Every Girl)

Yields 30 cookies

Ingredients:

  • ¾ cup butter, softened
  • ¾ cup brown sugar
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • 1 egg, room temperature
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp cornstarch
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  •  ½ tsp salt
  • 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Cream together butter, sugar, and brown sugar for 5 minutes until light and fluffy
  2. Add in egg and vanilla, beating for 3 minutes until combined and smooth
  3. Whisk together flour, cornstarch, baking soda, and salt in separate bowl. Carefully add to the mixer in 3 intervals, combining after each addition
  4. Stir in chocolate chips by hand
  5. Place dough in freezer OR shape into balls and place them on baking sheet and put plastic wrap over it, and freeze for at least 1 ½  hours (can freeze up to 5 days)…whatever floats your boat 
  6. Preheat oven to 350
  7. Bake for 11 minutes (rotate pan once midway), it’s ok if they’re a little underdone (never over bake)
  8. Let it sit for a good 5-10 minutes before removing from pan to let it set and avoid crumbling or breaking the cookie

Note: Since I currently do not have a proper baking sheet that can fit in my small oven, I use lightly greased aluminum baking pans (you know the ones that you can dispose of but your mother always taught you never to dispose).

I actually have grown to really like using aluminum baking pans because they under bake my cookies just enough, and if I allow them to cool before I remove the cookies from the pan they turn out perfect every time!

One thought on “Chocolate Chip Cookies: The Ooey Gooey Goodness

Leave a Reply

