Chocolate "Crack": Sweet ‘n Salty ‘n Addictive

   
 
WARNING: This treat is highly addictive. Consume at your own risk.

I love the combination of sweet and salty flavors. I don’t know why but it just works so well! Chocolate covered pretzels are probably one of my favorite snacks, and the candy bar Take 5 is probably another favorite, because it combines the sweet (chocolate, caramel, peanut butter) with the salty (pretzel nougats and peanuts). I guess when you have two different flavors you’re pleasing more taste buds, so it’s a better experience.
Anyways this sweet ‘n salty n’ highly addictive snack combines just a few ingredients to create amazing results. I love easy recipes, and this is definitely one of them! In fact, I prepared the crack in the 15 minutes right before I had to leave and chauffeur my younger brothers somewhere. Like I literally took 15 minutes to get out all the supplies and ingredients and made it in that time (as well as snap some pictures along the way). Seriously. The clock said 4:45 when I started, and 5:01 when I left the kitchen. Ok, so I took 16 minutes…but the point is you can whip up crack in no time! Now, isn’t that convenient? Although, the most addictive things probably should not be this easy to make, but hey I’m not complaining!
The base of chocolate crack is saltine crackers. I actually grew up hating saltine crackers because when my mom put me in preschool she told the teachers not to give me anything in case the snacks they gave had any ingredients I’m not allowed to eat like pork, gelatin, etc. So my preschool teachers only gave me saltine crackers. When you’re 4 years old, and you eat saltine crackers every day while your classmates are eating marshmallows you kind of start to have an aversion to the saltine crackers. Thankfully one day my mom told my teachers I could have other things besides the stupid saltine crackers, like you know, chocolate chip cookies and stuff. But needless to say, for years I did not touch saltine crackers until recently when I realized that you can do amazing things with them and make it taste, you know, not boring.
You begin with about 24 saltine crackers. Arrange them in a baking sheet so they cover the bottom. It’s ok if they overlap each other. (I was in a rush so I had spaces between mine.)
Next, we melt some butta’ and brown suga’ togetha’ until you form basically a caramel sauce. This takes about maybe 5 minutes. Just make sure everything is melted together.
I forgot to take a picture of how it looks like when it’s completely melted together (I’m surprised I was even able to take pictures of the process in those fateful 16 minutes).
The resulting “sauce” won’t look exactly like caramel sauce and that’s totally fine. In fact it might even look a little gross- the butter might look like it’s floating at the top but it really doesn’t matter. If the brown sugar and butter is completely melted, you’re good to go.
Now carefully pour the “sauce” on top of the saltine crackers. Doesn’t have to be perfect, but try to make sure most of the crackers have the butter/brown sugar concoction on top. Again in those 16 minutes I had, I was not concerned about perfection but they still turned out great 😉
Pop this in the oven for 3 minutes and the “sauce” will get bubbly and sloshy.  (Sorry no picture.)
Then sprinkle chocolate chips on top and let it sit for a minute.
The chocolate chips will slowly begin to melt. Use an offset spatula (or the back of a big serving spoon) and spread the melting chocolate chips to make the chocolate layer.

 

It’s called chocolate crack for a reason.

 

Pop it in the freezer for 15 minutes, and you can go about your way (or in my case dash off to the car to drive my wards to their destination).
Fifteen (or in my case, thirty) minutes later take it out of the freezer and you got this nice slab of chocolate crack.
You can break the slab into pieces or you can use a knife and cut it into squares.
So beautiful. So addictive. So good.
Chocolate “Crack” Recipe (adapted from Trisha Yearwood)
Ingredients:
  • approx. 24 saltine crackers
  • ½ cup of brown sugar
  • ½ cup butter
  • 1 ½ cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 F
  2. Grease a baking sheet and arrange saltine crackers on the bottom
  3. Melt brown sugar and butter together for 5 minutes, until completely dissolved.
  4. Pour over saltine crackers.
  5. Place in oven for about 3 minutes.
  6. Take it out of the oven, and sprinkle chocolate chips on top and let it sit for a minute.
  7. Take an offset spatula to spread the chocolate chips into a layer.
  8. Freeze for at least 15 minutes. Break into pieces or cut into squares.

Note: The recipe can easily be doubled. Also, I was sort of heavy handed with the chocolate chips (surprise surprise), so you can adjust that to your liking.

 

2 thoughts on “Chocolate "Crack": Sweet ‘n Salty ‘n Addictive

Leave a Reply

