Carrot Cake

Note: Photo credits go to my wonderfully talented friend at Robin Hood Photography!

I’ve mentioned before that I love cooking with my friends. It’s a great way to bond, make memories, and get home-cooked food at the end!

The fun (or in the case with my indecisive friends, hardest) part is deciding what to make. If you know me, you know that I love chocolate. There can never be too much chocolate. You just have to look at my recipe index to know that I have a problem when it comes to chocolate. Chocolate Crack, anyone? (Seriously, if you haven’t tried that out, you must! It’s too easy and too yummy to miss out on!)

Despite being a chocolate-loving fiend, I like to explore different foods. So I was secretly excited when one of my friends suggested we make carrot cake!

I haven’t always liked carrot cake. When I was little, I used to think that there were only two flavors when it came to cake: chocolate (duh) and vanilla. So one day when I came home from school, there was this gorgeous cake on our kitchen table. I couldn’t wait to dig in! But when I forked a big bite into my mouth thinking it was chocolate, I was in for something completely different! Carrot cake! I was overwhelmed with, what I thought at the time, was this weird almost, spicy, flavor. When my mom told me it was carrot cake, I was appalled! Gross, people made cakes out of vegetables?! I was pretty upset and became wary of any suspicious looking cakes at dinner parties for years to come, knowing to steer clear of any cakes that had designs of carrots frosted on top.

Luckily, my distaste did not last. I have now come to appreciate carrot cake and its unique flavor. And this cake that my friends and I made was so delicious, moist, and had a subtle aroma of a spiced chai latte and included some wonderful tropical additions such as pineapple tidbits and shredded coconut.

Have you ever disliked a certain food, but now love it? Comment below and let me know! 🙂


Carrot Bundt Cake Recipe (adapted from Southern Living)

Note: the original recipe calls for buttermilk, but we didn’t have any on hand, so we made our own using milk and vinegar! You can also use lemon juice in place of vinegar. 

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 cups sugar 
  • ¾ cup olive oil
  • ¾ cup milk + ¾ Tb vinegar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups grated carrots
  • 1 (8 oz) can of pineapple tidbits, drained
  •  ¾ cup shredded coconut
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts

Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened,
  • 11 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • 1/3 cup powdered sugar

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. To make buttermilk: combine milk and vinegar in a bowl. Let stand for 5-10 minutes.
  3. Whisk together all-purpose flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. Set aside.
  4. Combine eggs with sugar, olive oil, buttermilk, and vanilla. Beat well until fully combined.
  5. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix well.
  6. Mix in the grated carrots, pineapple tidbits, shredded coconut, and walnuts.
  7. Pour into a greased bundt pan. Bake for 30-35 minutes (depends on your oven) until a toothpick inserted comes out clean. Let cool completely before frosting.
  8. Cream Cheese Frosting: Beat butter and cream cheese. Add powdered sugar and mix until fully combined.

 

2 thoughts on “Carrot Cake

  1. I used to hate coconut and think it was an “old person's” food.
    Now, years later, I love it and everything coconut flavored (Pina Coladas <3)!
    …But it also makes me wonder: maybe it IS an old person's food :O

    Like

Leave a Reply

