Strawberry (Sorta Green) Smoothie: Iftaar Pick-Me-up or Suhoor Energizer!

I can’t believe that the first week of Ramadan has come and gone! I hope your Ramadan has been spiritually rewarding thus far and filled with yummy foods for iftaar as well!

If your family is anything like mine, fried foods such as pakodas, dahi vadas, samosas, and egg rolls (my family is really big on egg rolls which we stuff with spiced mashed potatoes) are pretty much a staple part of your iftaar. But it really isn’t the healthiest way to go so we try our best to limit our intake of fried foods and increase the amount of fruits on the dastarkhaan/table.

Now one of my favorite things to drink besides green tea (I’m kind of obsessed with making my own iced green tea) are smoothies! I love smoothies! What better way to get more fruits into your system than by drinking them?

That’s why today I have a simple, versatile smoothie recipe that is perfect for these long, hot days! You can totally use whatever fruits you have on hand- I used strawberries which are one of my favorite fruits- you can use blueberries, raspberries, whatever. I also like to use milk in my smoothies because I like the creamy, almost milkshake-like consistency it gives. Plus it’s more filling with milk which is perfect for iftaar and to help you avoid overeating other not-so-healthy stuff. I also like to add a handful of fresh spinach to my fruit smoothies because I’m kind of a wuss and I can’t quite stomach a full-on green smoothie so I add just a bit and the idea is to increase the amount of greens I put in my smoothies little by little until hopefully *one day* I can have a 100% green smoothie, haha 🙂

Strawberry Smoothie Recipe

  • 2 cups strawberries, chopped
  • 1 cup milk
  • handful of chopped, fresh spinach
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • ice
  1. Put everything in a blender and blend until smooth.
  2. Pour into a glass and enjoy!
3 thoughts on “Strawberry (Sorta Green) Smoothie: Iftaar Pick-Me-up or Suhoor Energizer!

  1. Another great recipe!
    I've nominated you to complete the Liebster Award.
    The link to it is over on my lifestyle blog – littlecutouts.blogspot.com
    I hope you complete it as you are one of my favourite bloggers and I would like to know a little more about your personality.

    – Iona | cupsandgrams // littlecutouts

    Like

Leave a Reply

