Eid 2014!

Eid Mubarak! I know Eid was on Monday and I’m late (again), but it got pretty hectic these last few days, not to mention that I’m also sick (again) so blogging during all the craziness was kind of hard.

So let me backtrack to two days before Eid. I got my mehendi (henna) done by a friend’s aunt and it was freaking. beautiful. She made such a pretty design, and the color came out really dark! (For those who don’t know what henna is, it’s basically like a temporary tattoo. It’s a paste made from the powdered leaves of a plant and it stains the skin a reddish color. Many woman in the Indian subcontinent and the Middle East apply this on festive occasions such as weddings or holidays for beautification, or just because!)

I really wish I knew how to do henna but I am not the artsy/creative kind in the least. My sister however is a lot more creative than me and even though she doesn’t like henna on her own hands she loves to put it on others!

My henna!

 

My sister did this little girl’s henna at the masjid!

Fast forward to the night before Eid. I could barely sleep, mostly cause there was that sense of excitement and anticpation for Eid the next day, but also partly because in Ramadan (and especially the last 10 nights) we all became nocturnal (up all night and sleeping in…like really, really late). Anyways after Fajr (dawn prayers) I couldn’t pretend to sleep anymore so I figure I might as well get up and get ready, so I went downstairs to make myself a cup of coffee and then showered and got ready. My mom had bought me a simple but very elegantΒ abayaΒ the day before that I couldn’t wait to wear to the Eid prayer!

#MOTD

 

#OOTD

After the Eid prayer, we came home and ate some of my mom’s sheer khorma. Eating sheer khorma on Eid is a cultural tradition (not a religious one) for most Indian/Pakistani families. I don’t why it’s a thing, but it’s a thing and it doesn’t really feel like Eid if your mom doesn’t make some. Sheer khorma is basically cooked warm milk that has in it fried vermicelli, dates, and nuts. It’s very sweet and can be served hot or cold. It’s also traditional to offer this to any guests who come to visit you on Eid, so we gave some to our neighbor (who also brought us some of the sheer khorma she made lol).

After that we went to a brunch, ate more food, came home and then our relatives came over. The funnest (I can’t remember if that’s a word…) part was watching the kids open up their gifts! Remember how I said I was not creative in the least? Wrapping their gifts was a challenge for me, because I had no clue how…but I learned and it was actually kind of fun, and we even got kind of fancy and added little homemade bows made out of ribbon and added lace to the presents (that is the extent of my creativity, haha). Oh and the goodie bags! I love making goodie bags…actually giving someone a gift in general..whether it’s homemade food or something you bought…it just gives you this warm, fuzzy feeling inside and gaahhh, it’s the best! I think y’all know what I mean πŸ˜‰

Anyways, I hope you all had an amazing Eid and I pray that any bad habits we left during Ramadan we continue to stay away from, and any new good habits we started we continue to practice!

I’ll be back to regular food blogging, sooooon In shaa Allah (God Willing)!

Love,

Your Favorite Foodie

2 thoughts on “Eid 2014!

Leave a Reply

