Healthy Dippin’ Dots!

When I was little and my mom would take me to the mall I was more interested in the food court than the clothes shopping (honestly, I’m still pretty much the same in this regard…food>>>fashion). I fondly remember my mom buying a hot Cinnabon Cinnamon Roll for me. The gooey, sweet, hot mess with the trademark Cinnabon smell. I would always burn my tongue because I was always trying to eat it in haste. Another food memory is dippin’ dots! I was actually kind of perturbed by dippin’ dots…the sign read that it was the “Ice Cream of the Future” but it didn’t look anything like ice cream to me, and it annoyed me. But like many things, dippin’ dots was something for which I acquired a love and appreciation. In fact, now everytime my sister, mom and I go shoppping at the mall it’s almost a ritual- we always have to stop at Dippin Dots and we get one small cup of chocolate dippin dots and share.


Now, I still haven’t dared to try to make homemade cinnamon rolls, let alone a Cinnabon copycat. Anynything with dough or yeast seriously intimidates me. So for now, cinnamon rolls are on my blog’s bucket list. Instead, I have for you a ridiculously easy way to make dippin’ dots with literally ONE ingredient! How crazy is that?

The dippin’ dots my sister and I made were, admittedly, a lot plumper (?) than original dippin’ dots which are, well… a lot more like tiny dots. But that may have been our fault in that we cut the hole in our ziploc bag too big, but honestly the result was creamy dots so who cares? We used Greek Gods’ Honey Strawberry flavored greek yogurt (this is my absolute favorite greek yogurt flavor!) but you can use whatever flavor of greek yogurt you have. In fact, I’m sure you could even use regular flavored yogurt if you want. But greek yogurt ensured a nice creamy taste to our dippin’ dots.

We actually made this during Ramadan one day Β for our iftaar (food that we break our fast with at sunset) Β as a healthy alternative because we wanted to take a break from all the fried foods we typically ended up making!

Healthy Dippin’ Dots Recipe
Ingredient:

  • flavored greek yogurt (I used a Honey Strawberry flavor)

Directions

  1. Place greek yogurt into a Ziploc baggie and snip off a tiny part of one corner
  2. On a baking sheet lined with parchment/wax paper squeeze out little dots
  3. Freeze for a couple of hours, or until firm
  4. Scrape off the dots with a butter knife into a serving bowl and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

