Red Velvet Cheesecake Ice Cream

Three words, baby.

Red velvet. Cheesecake. Ice Cream.

Ok, technically that was like 5 words, but ohmyGod you guys it’s RED VELVET CHEESECAKE ICE CREAM. I think I may have gained a few pounds just saying that out loud. This is sinful stuff, you guys. But oh. so. good. And simple. I’ve said it before, it’s dangerous when sinfully good stuff is this easy to make but hey I’m not complaining! This is another ridiculously easy ice cream recipe, no ice cream maker necessary!


I made this ice cream for an all-girls pool party one of my friends threw a while back and I was excited to try making this. I’m glad I prepared this about two days in advance because I felt it was necessary for it to freeze for more than just overnight which the original recipe called for. But I was so happy when one of my friends exclaimed that my ice cream was even better than the Sprinkles’ Red Velvet Ice Cream! I think I nailed this one my friends πŸ˜‰

Back to the pool party potluck- the day began with clouds in the sky and it had been raining the day before and we were worried we would not be able to swim or have to cancel our plans. But we figured swimming or no swimming, getting together at my friend’s house was a good excuse to hang out. We brought the food we prepared and extra swimming clothes just in case the weather would be in our favor.

We were in luck! The sun came out and while the weather was in its 70s (where I live 70-degree weather during this time of year is pretty amazing because the usual temperatures reach 90-100 degrees Fahrenheit!) we decided to get in the pool!

After swimming we had a nice lunch by the pool. My friend/the hostess prepared pizza, some juicy, refreshing watermelon & canteloupe slices along with an array of drinks and juices. Another friend brought her mom’s delicious chicken patties, and another friend made these amazing salmon hors d’oeuvres! And for dessert we scooped out my Red Velvet Cheesecake Ice Cream and two of my friends used there fancy camera phones to take some very pretty pictures of it by the pool, haha. Hey good food deserves a good photoshoot, am I right?

A beautiful day spent with beautiful friends and filled with good food. All I can say is alhamdulillah (All Praise is to God)- I am so grateful for the wonderful people in my life. ❀

Red Velvet Cheesecake Ice Cream (recipe source: Something Swanky)

Ingredients:

  • 1 (15.25 oz) box Red Velvet cake mix + additional ingredients (eggs/oil/water) as instructed by directions
  • 1 (8 oz) tub of whipped topping (such as Cool Whip), thawed slightly
  • 1 (8 oz) package of cream cheese, softened
  • 14 oz sweetened condensed milk
  • ΒΌ cup butter, softened
  • splash of vanilla extract
  • 1 Tb lemon juice

Directions

  1. Bake Red Velvet cake as instructed by box directions. Set aside and let cool completely.
  2. Use an electric mixer to whisk together Cool Whip, cream cheese, condensed milk, butter, vanilla, and lemon juice until combined.
  3. Crumble the Red Velvet cake into small-to-medium sized chunks. Carefully fold in the cake crumbles into the ice cream batter (the cake will crumble more as you do so, so it’s better to start off with medium sized chunks).
  4. Store ice cream in a large plastic container and freeze overnight.
  5. Take out of the freeze and let it thaw. Stir ice cream a few times by hand and freeze again for another 12 hours.
  6. Enjoy!

 

Check out the Recipe Index for more delicious recipes!

2 thoughts on “Red Velvet Cheesecake Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

