Blueberry Muffins

Hey readers! So I know I haven’t been too consistent in blogging, and I had a feeling that when the semester was in full swing I would be swamped with work. I kind of hoped that I would be able to maintain the blog regardless and NOT PROCRASTINATE, but of course I think being a college student is pretty much synonymous with procrastination on some level.


Anyways, I was super excited to make blueberry muffins because we actually had fresh blueberries in the house (my family isn’t too big on blueberries or raspberries, so those are pretty rare to find in the fridge). I’ve made blueberry muffins before using frozen blueberries and maybe the recipe was bad or I did something wrong or those darned frozen blueberries (they were pretty old) were bad, no one liked them at all.

The recipe (from The Orgasmic Kitchen) I used this time around was MUCH better and everyone loved these bad boys! In fact the blogger claims these are “the best blueberry muffins” and I will tell you I was absolutely smitten with these muffins- the slightly crunchy crumble topping paired with the soft, sweet interior of the muffin went perfectly together! My sibs actually did not like the crumb topping, but maybe that’s because I went a little overboard and piled that crumb topping high on the muffin batter so it kind of spilled over. But whatever, I thought it was tasty!

Blueberry Muffin Recipe (recipe source: The Orgasmic Kitchen)

Ingredients:
for the muffins
1/3 cup veg. oil
1/3 cup milk
1 cup fresh blueberries
1 egg
1 and 1/2 cup flour
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp baking powder
for the crumb topping
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup butter, cold, cut into small pieces
1/3 cup flour
lemon zest (optional- I skipped this)

  1. Preheat oven to 400 F.
  2. for the muffins: combine flour, sugar, milk, baking powder, and salt. In another bowl combine vegetable oil, milk, and the egg. Add wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix together. Fold in blueberries. Fill muffin tin and add crumb topping,
  3. for the crumb topping: combine sugar, butter, flour to form a crumb and sprinkle over muffins, then bake for 20-25 minutes.
 

 

Check out the Recipe Index for more yummy foods!
6 thoughts on “Blueberry Muffins

  1. I've never used oil in muffins! I guess I always just use more milk – that might explain why my muffins are always small. I also like the idea of crumble on top! Makes it a bit different.

    How do your semesters work? Is it 3 months at a time? That's what it is for me, with 3 terms a year. I don't think that's how other universities even around here work, though.

    Like

  2. Yes my favorite part of this muffin was how great it tasted with the crumb topping! And I guess vegetable oil also makes it a little more moist?

    Most universities here (like mine) have 2 semesters every year and each semester is 4-5 months long, but I've also heard of some liberal arts colleges here who have a trimester calendar, like your university 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

