Brownie Taste-Testing

This blog is really for me, as an amateur baker, to document the things I bake (or cook) at home. Kind of like an online recipe book, but for the world to see. (I also have a cute blue recipe book with white polka dots my sister-in-law gave me because I love physically writing things down!). I’m not a recipe developer or anything. I’m more of a recipe follower, so I always make sure to give credit where credit’s due πŸ™‚

Anyways, one of the things I want to get down pat is baking brownies! For years and years I have used box mixes, and can you blame me? They’re super simple, take minimal effort, and Β you’re guaranteed a tasty treat at the end all for a few dollars? Β I’ll take that. But as I’ve begun making things from scratch it’s just Β a whole different ball game- in a good way! Baking is truly a labor of love. And while I can say I’m content with the chocolate cupcake and chocolate chip cookie recipe I Β have right now on the blog, one thing I don’t have is a surefire brownie recipe! I’ve tried a few different ones. They were mediocre and one just turned out bad.

This particular recipe is by Tessa AriasΒ on her blogΒ called the “Ultimate Brownies”. Β I’m not totally taken with these brownies but I have to say they are pretty great! The problem I had was with the flavor…it was a little off, but perhaps this was through some fault of my own. Also I felt my brownies were a little too underbaked- we all know you should never overbake brownies but even though I left mine in for the directed time they were still pretty wet even after I let them cool. It wasn’t until the next day did they set up more firmly.

If you’re looking for a brownie recipe to try, I would say go for it!

Recipe at Handle the Heat blog!

2 thoughts on “Brownie Taste-Testing

  1. I can completely relate as another amateur baker! Brownies are one of those staple recipes that I kepp telling myself I need to make, however, there are sooo many recipes out there it's just overwhelming at times! I really appreciate the honest review as it will make it easier for me to pick out which recipe I want to try!

    Like

Leave a Reply

