"Cheater" Pain au Chocolat (Easy!)

Pain au Chocolat (pronounced “pa oh shoh/koh/lah” according to this) is a French pastry filled with chocolate. Now there’s probably a more traditional way to make this…but I like quick, easy recipes. And I’m sure you guys like quick, easy recipes, too. So I’m giving you guys a quick, easy “cheater” version of pain au chocolat.


So just putting it out there that this is not a traditional or authentic recipe, but it’s a simple one! I’ll admit there are times while I enjoy laboring over something I’m making…and there are times when I really don’t. I’m hungry, or I’m craving something and I don’t want to have to do a lot of dishes…and I want food NOW. Cheater recipes like this can come in handy.

This is one of my “1-2-3” recipes, because there’s only three ingredients! Win, win.

You start off by thawing your puff pastry sheets. Once they’re thawed, depending on how large your sheets are, you want to cut them into rectangles. My puff pastry sheets were squares so I just cut them in half. Then add a couple of chocolate chips on one end. You don’t want to add to many because it will make it hard to roll them.

Roll the puff pastry sheet.
You can use a few dabs of water as “glue” to prevent it from unrolling.

And bake! They turn out something like this:

 

Enjoy your pain au chocolat with a cappuccino as you attempt to study but in reality you’re too busy Instagramming your picture because it looks cool.
Easy “1-2-3” Pain au Chocolat Recipe
Ingredients:
  • 1 package of puff pastry sheets, thawed
  • 1/3 cup of chocolate chips
  • water

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F
  2. Cut puff pastry sheets into rectangles. Place about a teaspoon and a half of chocolate chips on one side of the puff pastry rectangle. Roll the puff pastry sheet. You can use water as an adhesive.
  3. Place in a greased aluminum baking pan. Bake for about 24 minutes.
4 thoughts on “"Cheater" Pain au Chocolat (Easy!)

  1. I am always looking for shortcut recipes so this looks great! And lol I graduated last summer so I know exactly what it's like to pretend to study/write your 10.000 dissertation and be on the internet instead!

    Like

Leave a Reply

