Chocolate Pecan Granola Bars (no-bake)

It’s like pie…but healthier!

I love granola bars. Well then again, as my sister says, what don’t I love when it comes to food? My friend and I were answering “best friend” tag questions just for fun at a dinner party and when she had to answer what my favorite food was, she answered “All of them!” I had a hard time disagreeing with her (although I will say I have a greater affinity towards sweets than other types of food, but if you’ve taken a look at my recipe index that shouldn’t come as a surprise).

Anyways, I’m here to tell  you these granola bars are your new best friend! Slept in and now you’re rushing to school/work/super-important-interview/dropping your kid off and no time for a wholesome, nutritious breakfast to power your busy morning??!!!! Or you’re stuck in the office during your lunch break or you’re sitting in class and all of a sudden a baby whale starts moaning from within the depths of your stomach? Well, no longer my friend! No longer do you have to fish out 6 freaking whole dollars for a measly box of 5 “healthy” granola bars (honestly, the few times I have picked up a box of those at the grocery store I was internally wincing that I was forking out so much money for a box of granola bars that wouldn’t even last in my house for  2 days, let alone 2 weeks!) I don’t know about you but I don’t think any single granola bar is worth $1.20. Or maybe I just like a little bang with my buck. Or maybe I’m just Desi. 


I like making granola bars at home for many reasons: 

  1. It’s cost-efficient.
  2. I know EXACTLY what is going in my granola bars, and therefore EXACTLY what is going into my body
  3. They’re delicious! End of story.

I actually just finished making a second batch today. I made some a few days ago but it was all gone by the next day cause everyone kept eating it! I ate it for breakfast with Greek yogurt and strawberries and then again before lunch, and then again after lunch, and then again just because they’re kind of addicting…and then again.

 
So I made some more today and this time I made enough to fill a whole (I want to say 9×13 inch) pan/cookie sheet and then some (half of a dinner plate to be precise). This time around I only put chocolate in half of the granola since my mom’s not a fan of it. So adding chocolate is up to you. The original recipe I made a few days ago is what I’m posting below and that filled about half of the 9×13 tray. You can also use a smaller baking dish like an 8×8 if you want a thicker granola bar. It’s all up to you. 
For this much granola, double the recipe below
 

No-Bake Granola Bar Recipe

(yields 8×8 inch baking dish of granola or about half of a 9×13 pan)

Ingredients

  • 2 cups old fashioned oats
  • ½ cup shredded coconut
  • ½ cup chopped pecans

  • ½ cup chopped cashews  
  • ½ cup roasted sunflower seeds
  • ¼ cup flax seed 
  • ½ cup chopped almonds (optional)
  • dash of cinnamon (optional)
  • ¼ cup dark brown sugar
  • ½ cup honey or agave
  • 2 Tb coconut oil (you can sub vegetable oil or butter)
  • 2 tsp vanilla powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ cup dark chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Spread oats, coconut, pecans, cashews, sunflower seeds, flax seed, and almonds on a baking sheet. Place in oven for about 15-20 minutes to toast (watch carefully! You want them to toast nicely but be careful not to burn anything) Add cinnamon to the mix afterward.
  2. Mix brown sugar, honey, oil/butter, vanilla, and salt in a medium/large saucepan on medium heat until the brown sugar dissolves. 
  3. Add oat mixture to saucepan and mix to combine. Add dark chocolate chips and mix until they are dispersed throughout the granola*
  4. Pour into baking dish or cookie sheet and press down. Let cool completely. Cut into bars and serve.
*You can also press down individual chocolate chips after you’ve pushed the granola mixture into a pan, and then let cool, to avoid the chocolate chips melting (I kind of like it when they’re melted throughout the granola). Or you can melt the chocolate chips and drizzle over the granola bars.
4 thoughts on “Chocolate Pecan Granola Bars (no-bake)

  1. Pecans, chocolate, oats… This sounds like a winner and something I'd love! Adding pecans to my shopping list! Plus, I think if I were to make these I'd toast everything on my cast iron skillet on my stovetop because I'm forgetful and would probably let everything burn in the oven lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

