Date Truffles

 

Hello/Salaam, how are you all? A very belated Ramadan Mubarak to all who are observing this holy month of fasting. I have been MIA for too long, and I really hope to get better about this and blog more consistently! I was kind of embarrassed to blog now since it’s been so long since my last post! Like 3 months and some odd days to be sort of exact. Anyways….since it’s Ramadan I thought now would be an appropriate time to share a recipe that involved dates! Besides the fact that they are a sunnah food they are loaded with health benefits!


The Prophet Muhammad (peace & blessings be upon him) said, “He who eats 7 ‘
ajwa dates every morning will not be affected by poison or magic on the day he eats them.” [reported in Sahih Bukhari, Book 65 Hadith 356].Β 

They are also amazing for weight loss, promoting heart health, iron-deficiency anemia, reducing blood pressure, and promoting respiratory and digestive health, to name only a few of the benefits (NaturalSociety.com).

A friend of mine hosted a potluck iftaar (she is the same friend who hosted a potluck iftaar last Ramadan as well and I made cupcakes for that one!) and I volunteered to bring dessert (duh). I decided to make cake balls, mostly because I was craving them and I hadn’t made them in a while (you can see them peeking in the picture at the top in the left hand corner). But then I thought why not also make date truffles?? We have another friend who is more health-conscious than us so I thought they would be a great alternative for her. I was kind of nervous because I couldn’t taste the truffles since I was fasting, but after we opened our fasts and she tried them she loved them and took some home so I think these were a success!

I think date truffles are pretty versatile- I used pecans in them, but you could totally swap those for almonds, walnuts, pistachios, or any combination thereof (I have a mild allergy to walnuts and pistachios so I try to stay away from those if I can). You can also coat them in whatever you’d like- coconut shavings, finely ground nuts, coat them in melted chocolate, or a simple dusting of cocoa. (I kind of did all four…in the end I mixed the chopped pecans with cocoa and rolled my truffles in that and it really gave it that “rustic” look).

Anyways I hope you try them out especially since Eid is coming up soon, I think these would a really cute to make and pack them up nicely to give as little gifts!

Narrated Anas bin Malik: The Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) never proceeded (for the prayer) on the day of Eid Al-Fitr unless he had eaten some dates. Anas also narrated: The Prophet used to eat an odd number of dates. [Sahih Al-Bukhari Book 15 Hadith 73]

 

Date Truffle Recipe

yields about 15 truffles

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup pecans
  • about 21 pitted dates
  • 1/4 cup flaked/shredded coconut
  • 1-2 Tb coconut oil (add 1 Tb then add more if needed)
  • 3 Tb unsweetened cocoa
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • pinch of salt
  • for coating, choose one (optional): melted chocolate, cocoa powder, shredded coconut, or finely ground nuts

Directions

  1. Using a food processor, grind pecans until finely ground (a few pieces here and there are fine). Add dates and pulse again until finely ground. Add shredded coconut, coconut oil, cocoa, vanilla, and salt. Pulse until combined.
  2. Roll the date mixture into balls. Refrigerate for at least 1 hour.
  3. Optional: You may coat the truffles if you desire. Roll the truffles in finely ground nuts (I used pecans), or shredded coconut, or dust them lightly with cocoa powder. You may also dip the truffles in melted chocolate. For some of the truffles I combined the ground pecans with a little bit of flaked coconut and cocoa and rolled them in that mixture.
Leave a Reply

