Lemon Drizzle Cake

 

When life gives you lemons…you make a lemon drizzle cake. Or actually if life gives you exams, pretend you don’t need to study even though behavioral neuroscience is not the most intuitive subject in the world, and proceed to procrastinate by blogging. Which is funny (or just ironic) since I’ve been procrastinating with this blog like no tomorrow. Something else that’s funny (or not): I made this cake a while back *insert monkey-see-no evil emoji* …and have finally come around to posting it!


Have you guys ever read an article that said something along the lines of “do something for yourself everyday?”  A little bit of something, that you’re super passionate about or you need to work on to make yourself a happier, healthier, better you…and then 5, 10, 40 years from now you’ll look back and thank yourself for doing that *something*. It sounds like a cool idea right? Kind of like “paying it forward”…but for yourself. But it is so. dang. hard. Like actually doing something that’s good for you…and I’m not talking about trips to Starbucks, boba, or whatever you fancy, because those things are nice but are they really making your life *better*. I don’t know if I’m overthinking this…maybe I should be content with my life as it is. But it’s at a stalemate: go to school-come home-watch my TV shows (I’m an SVU junkie *insert another monkey emoji*)-homework-eat-sleep-go to school-come home…you get the picture. It’s my fault though. I need to learn to make time for myself. To read a book for fun and not because it’s an assigned reading or workout so I can feel good both physically and emotionally….anyways I’m rambling. Sorry if I went on a tangent but I love tangents so there we go.

Here’s to doing something for ourselves everyday….how about we start with baking a cake? 😉
Also, note-to-self: Don’t blog at night when you’re sleepy and are prone to quasi-deep ramblings that don’t really make sense to anyone else but yourself. Also, don’t procrastinate on your assigned readings.

Lemon Drizzle Cake Recipe (recipe credit goes to This Muslimah Cooks, with a few tiny adaptations)

Ingredients

  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 scant cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup butter, room temperature
  • 1 tsp vanilla powder (or extract)
  • 1/3 cup lemon juice
  • 1-1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt

for the lemon glaze:

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 Tb milk
  • 1 tsp lemon juice

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F.
  2. Combine eggs, sugar, butter, vanilla, and lemon juice until combined.
  3. Add flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt and mix until just combined.
  4. Pour into baking dish and bake for about 33 minutes. While it’s baking, prepare glaze.
  5. After it’s done baking, allow it cool slightly, but while it is still warm poke holes into cake and pour glaze over cake.
2 thoughts on “Lemon Drizzle Cake

  1. I wanted to do a food blog for ages whilst I was in Uni, but I was far too lazy, and too much of a procrastinator, so props to you for actually doing it. Though uni did often drive me in a stress induced craze at times, I do miss it some days! I used to sit at our dining table, in hopes that being in public would force me to study. I'd have my books out in front of me but I would have headphones on and watch marathons of SVU and I'd often bawl like a baby lool, ahh the memories!

    So don't worry, there is a light on the other side, you just have to persevere. The lemon drizzle cake looks yum, one of my faves! I'm off now to prepare a recipe for my blog, which I also made months ago aha.

    Like

  2. Haha thank you! I'm so glad someone understands! <3 And I LOVE SVU, and I cry watching that show too lol.

    For me, the hardest thing is to get focused and remain focused on the task at hand such as studying. I feel like as the semesters go on, my study habits have just gotten worse lol. But inshaAllah, I gotta stay focused and remind myself why I am studying in the first place!

    Like

Leave a Reply

