Samoa Bars

Are you one of those peoples who wished Girl Scout cookies were sold all year long? I hear your plight. My favorite are the samoa cookies! How can you possibly go wrong with chocolate, coconut, and caramel?


Now these don’t taste exactly like samoa cookies- the cookie base is not as crisp and thin as the original, BUT I think it’s still a wonderful and tasty variation! These bars are more soft/crumbly and they pair so nicely with the chocolate and caramel-coconut topping. These bars are made with a shortbread cookie base, topped with a caramel-coconut concoction, and dipped and drizzled with melted chocolate. Yummers. So delectable. And rich. I cut these bars too big, because after you eat half you’re already full. Seriously.

Now the original recipe said something about melting prepackaged chewy caramel squares to make the caramel sauce, but I thought why should I get in my car, drive to the grocery store, get out of the car, walk to the candy aisle, take forever in deciding which caramel square package and brand is the most cost efficient to buy, then stand in line to buy the aforementioned chewy caramels, then go back to the car, drive home AND THEN FINALLY start making the bars. Sheesh, too much work.

So I made my own caramel sauce.

Confession: that was my first time. Second confession: I was a little scared that I was going to burn my caramel.

But I didn’t and trust me it’s not so hard! You dump sugar and water in a saucepan, slowly bringing to a simmer, while stirring. You don’t have to stir like crazy- just occasionally move the saucepan or give it a little stir so nothing will stick to the bottom. Eventually you’ll start seeing a hint of brown…and then that caramely smell, and you keep cooking until and it’s nice and brown and then take it off the heat. At which point you will mix with your toasted coconut flakes and pour over the baked shortbread base. Then after everything has cooled and set you can cut it into squares and dip each square into melted semi-sweet chocolate chips! Or you can drizzle melted chocolate on top to save time. OR you can do both! πŸ˜€ (Which is what I did…because more chocolate, more yum).

Recipe

To get the recipe Β head on over toΒ Β Baking Bites

Click here for the easy caramel recipe I used by BakeLikeaPro on YouTube.

Leave a Reply

