Tiramisu, nontraditional

I’m baaaaaaaaaaaaaaack! It’s been almost a year since I last updated my blog and I know I’m quite terrible at being consistent, but I thought better late than never to update now…right? Anyways, quite a lot has happened since that last stressful spring semester…namely, another stressful semester (and I haven’t even properly dived into my current semester right now, so the verdict is still out on the level of stress). Well, I guess the most notable thing that has happened since we last chatted is that I got MARRIED! πŸ˜€ So yeah that was this whole thing, I’ll tell ya. But I think I’ll save a post all about that for later πŸ˜‰

Right now I’m working on my last semester for undergrad before I can graduate after these lovely 4 years (no sarcasm, I really did enjoy my college years), and I’m doing my student teaching (exciting, yes, and also extremely nerve-wracking!!) I may have had a little bit of an anxiety attack when I got home after my first day. I think I just let my fears and insecurities consume me. But thankfully, after talking to my dad and husband who comforted me I began to feel a lot better about the whole student teaching thing by the third day. And now it’s the second week and I don’t feel queasy in the mornings anymore, so yay! Although, I’m still not able to stomach a full breakfast so early in the morning 😦 which sucks since I’m a huge breakfast person, and I really believe in having a nice, big breakfast to start the day..but I don’t know waking up before my body wants to, totally kills my appetite…that is until second period and my stomach starts growling in class, oops. Until, I get used to waking up at 6:30 every day and not being able to go back to sleep, strawberry yogurtΒ filled with lots of added sugar, it is.

Anyways! On to the FOOD part of this food post. I went to a going-away party for a friend over the weekend (which was so lovely by the way…filled with such inspiring and lovely people, thought-provoking conversation, Buddha bowls, a gorgeous lemon-blueberry cake, and manicures!) A few of the girls were asking about my blog actually and my friend had also just asked me to send her the recipe for the tiramisu I Β had brought to share with her and her family, because apparently her mom loved it and her mom is part Italian, so that must mean I did something right, right??

Anyways, this recipe was adapted from a couple of recipes I saw online and I conglomerated it here. It is defo not authentic because I did not use eggs, alcohol, mascarpone cheese, or even ladyfingers, LOL! I subbed everything! Because:

a) I didn’t want to mess with raw eggs for the zabaglione

b) I don’t want alcohol in my food/drink

c) I didn’t have mascarpone cheese/plus cream cheese is less expensive

d) as for the lady fingers, I really wanted to use them!! But I looked everywhere at my local grocery store and couldn’t find any 😦 I was so sad, but I subbed pound cake for that!

e) Well this isn’t really related to all the ingredients I’m not putting, but rather to point out that in this recipe I added CHOCOLATE GANACHE in between the layers! Absolutely divine ❀ I don’t think I can have tiramisu without chocolate ganache after this.

Anyways, without further ado, here’s the recipe, and I do hope you give this a try, because it’s quite simple and easy to make!

 

tira
Excuse the poor picture of the tiramisu, but I promise it was delicious!!!

 

Tiramisu, nontraditional

Egg-less, alcohol-free, sans ladyfingers & mascarpone

Ingredients

  • 4 tsp instant coffee
  • 1-3/4 cups hot (but not boiling) water
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 8 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • Β½ cup (preferably caster, but granulated works fine too) sugar
  • 2 medium loaves of pound cake, sliced evenly (or 20-24 lady fingers, but I just used pound cake!)
  • Β½ tsp vanilla extract (optional)
  • Cocoa powder, sifted, for dusting

Chocolate Ganache (optional)

  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions

  1. Combine instant coffee + hot water in a bowl. Place in refrigerator to cool completely (needs to be at least room temperature by the time we use it).
  2. Prepare the chocolate ganache, if using: Place chocolate chips in a bowl, set aside. Heat heavy cream on medium heat until it simmers but does not boil. Then pour the heavy cream over the chocolate chips and let sit for 1 minute. Afterward, whisk thoroughly until the cream and chocolate combineΒ to form a ganache. Set aside.
  3. Whip heavy cream to stiff peaks, but careful not to overbeat.
  4. Combine cream cheese, sugar, optional vanilla, and 4 Tablespoons of the brewed coffee. Stir until smooth and creamy. (If your coffee was hot, your cream cheese might separate a little but it’s fine, because after it sets overnight everything should consolidate together perfectly).
  5. Gently fold the cream cheese mixture into the whipped cream (or vice versa).
  6. Place pound cake slices in an 8×8 baking dish and cover the bottom. (You may need to tear some slices in half to fill all the crevices and corners). Then ladle half the brewed coffee over it.
  7. If using chocolate ganache, spoon half of it over the coffee soaked pound cake slices and spread evenly.
  8. Spread half of the cream cheese mixture evenly on top, and dust with cocoa powder.
  9. Repeat another layer of the pound cake slices, rest of the coffee, other half of the ganache (if using), and the rest of the cream cheese mixture. Dust with a final sprinkling of sifted cocoa powder. Decorate with chocolate shavings if desired!
  10. Refrigerate overnight (or at the very least 6 hours). Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

